Defeating writer’s block in the face of deadlines

Eva Amsen 🔬🎶
6 min readJul 7, 2021

Writer’s block on a deadline is one of the most stressful parts of freelance writing for me. I usually know exactly what I’m supposed to be writing about — that’s not the problem. But sometimes I just can’t figure out how to write anymore or where to start. This happened a few weeks ago when I was working on an article for a client, and I had to pull out my entire arsenal of tricks to battle writer’s block so that I could hand it in on time.

illustration of two writers

I’m sharing my favourite tips here in case they help others as well. These work for me as a freelance science writer, but can be applied to anyone doing non-fiction, technical or content writing that needs to be handed in on deadline.

How to find the story

  • Outline the piece. I often don’t know where to start because I don’t yet have a good idea in my head about the story I need to tell. I’ll know the topic, angle and the word limit, but not how the piece is going to flow from beginning to middle to end. That’s where outlining helps me. My favourite method is to just list parts of the story as bullet points in a Google Doc and place them in an order that makes sense. If that still doesn’t work, I move on to my next few tricks.
  • Use pieces of paper. Instead of creating a list of bullet points, I use pieces of paper to write down all…

--

--

Eva Amsen 🔬🎶

Writer, science communicator, musician. Find more of my writing at Forbes.com, Undark, Nature, Nautilus, The Scientist, Hakai and other places.